Asia’s 50 Best: Jaan, Singapore (Part 1, Amuse-bouche)

Category: French – Fine Dining

Number #11 on San Pellegrino’s list of Asia’s 50 Best Restaurants in 2015 and a strong player in the list over several years, I’ll readily admit I was excited for this meal. Jaan, helmed by Chef de cuisine Julien Royer, presents modern french cuisine with tantalising visuals, often calling for the hostesses to add the final touch to the dish right before your very eyes.

2 Stamford Road, Swissotel The Stamford, Level 70, Equinox Complex, Singapore 178882

The reception for Jaan is the same as for Equinox and bars City Space and New Asia, to the left of the main reception of the Swissotel lobby.

Damage: $$$$

At dinnertime, the Menu Degustation of 5-courses is about $200. We went with the 7-course Menu Prestige with wine pairing, which totalled about $500 per head. A different menu is presented at lunchtime, with a 3-course at $68 and a 5-course at $118. 

To go: Yes, for that special occasion

Jaan was an exceptional experience. The restaurant itself seats about 30 persons, and the setting is warm, posh, yet intimate, and the service is excellent, professional yet personal. An amiable sous Chef Kirk Westaway appeared towards the end of the meal to put the finishing touches on our desserts, cracked a little joke and asked how everything was. Overall, the food was good and some dishes were especially memorable. Remember to reserve a table at least 2 weeks in advance, as they typically run at full-house on a daily basis.


The lift doors opened to the floor of Equinox, where a Jaan hostess waited, nodded politely and greeted us by name, before leading us to the left and down the passageway, up a short flight of steps which opened into a small space and finally, into the dining area of Jaan with views of Singapore’s skyline as drawn out by skyscrapers. Having made the reservation for 6.30pm, we were the first to arrive. We both went with the Menu Prestige, a 7-course, with wine pairing.

Asia's 50 Best Restaurants 2014 2015 Jaan Singapore Food Review Blog Appetizers

The first amuse-bouche was Lentil Hummus with cereals tuiles. I’ve had hummus at a variety of places, and I recalled the hummus I’d had in Dubai which had been dry and crumbly, and rather pasty in taste. That was also when I decided I definitely didn’t like hummus very much. This, however, was absolutely rich, moist, and delicious – almost reminding me of orh nee (yam paste), with a touch of sweetness. I couldn’t stop smiling at the little jar and started feeling rather silly about trying to have it with the bread as well, but the hostess smiled knowingly and let me keep it until I was completely through.

Next, a stone platter of Black sesame sponge and smoked eel, pork trotter samossa with grain mustard, cantal and walnut crackers (feature picture) was delivered to the table, and the Mushroom tea cep sabayon followed shortly after. The trio I wasn’t impressed with and thought to be rather ordinary – the sesame sponge lacked depth of flavour and the cantal and walnut crackers were pretty flat, which is surprising as cantal cheese has similarities to cheddar.

Asia's 50 Best Restaurants 2014 2015 Jaan Singapore Food Review Blog Best Mushroom Soup

The Mushroom tea, however, blew my mind. Even as I watched with interest as they poured clear mushroom tea into whatever was already in the cup, there was no way I could’ve expected the explosion of flavour. It was honestly one of the most a-m-a-z-i-n-g things I’ve ever had in my life, even more mind blowing than the starters I’d had at El Celler Can De Roca. It was essentially a cup of mushroom essence, speckled with crisped mushroom bits releasing their woody rich tastes, enveloped in a deliciously creamy cep sabayon. Exceptional.

Published by

Zabrina Alexis Chew

I believe in exploration, in visiting new places, encountering people and cultures, and in learning and trying new things. I believe in pushing the boundaries, doing what you never thought you'd ever get down to doing, and to look at the world with an open mind. I believe in looking forward with enthusiasm at the adventures that await. Above all, I believe in being and feeling alive. I hope you will share my adventures with me, just as I would love to share in yours also. Here's to our friendship. After all, we're all explorers in this world together!

Leave a Reply

