Tomita Melon House とみたメロンハウス, Furano, Hokkaido, Japan

SCRIBBLES

Category: Japanese – Fruit / Dessert

Throughout my entire time in Hokkaido, I was on the hunt for all things melon. Melon ice-cream, melon pocky snacks, melon everything. That’s because the melons in Hokkaido are amazing – even if you don’t get a top grade melon, they’re still probably going to own the ones you have back home. When I saw the green melon shaped balloon floating in the sky, I could barely contain my excitement. And when I finally got a taste of the melon bun… I was on a high for pretty much the rest of the day and wanted to have the bun for dinner as well*.

*Reaction(s) may vary according on how much of a melon fan you are.

3-32 Miyamachi, Sorachi-gun, Nakafurano-cho 071-0714, Hokkaido

Tomita Melon House is actually located in Nakafurano, which is still in the Furano region but not right smack in the middle. It’s just next to Farm Tomita, so if you go to either one, you most definitely should stop by the other as well. There’s ample parking, and when you find yourself surrounded with melon-inspired decor everywhere, you know you’ve gotten to the right place.

Damage: $

In general it isn’t expensive – for individual servings, they sell melons by the slice in the fridge or melon buns by the piece at the bakery shop. Otherwise, you can do what we did, which was to buy up a box of melons to savor at the hotel afterwards; the pricetag on Japanese melons in Singapore is pretty hefty, so if you want to eat a lot of melon, this is the opportune moment. And let’s not talk about the buns… which were my fault (and weakness), entirely.

To go: Yes, please! 😀

I’ll definitely go again the next time I’m back, but note that these are Tomita melons and not the super famous Yubari melons which I’m told are even more mind-blowing, although I personally struggle to understand how mind-blowing a melon could possibly be. In any case, it was unfortunate that we passed the Yubari region too late on our first day in Hokkaido so they had already closed for the day. I’ll definitely want to try those if I ever go that way again, but either way the Tomita melons are great as well.


A MORE DETAILED RECOUNT

The bakery was the closest to the carpark so that was the first place I went. I headed straight to the counter of melon buns and tried to make sense of the different types of buns available. The chef initially told me they’d run out of the signature melon-filled buns, but because we were a group of 8 and would place an order for an entire batch of 10 buns (yes, my crazy idea – anything to get my melon fix), they did it fresh just for us. We’d actually had lavender ice cream at Farm Tomita and lunch before that, so everyone was quite stuffed. I ended up having 3 or 4 buns to myself (oops) but I spread them out over a few meals into the next day, and they kept quite well, except being a little squished from my journey.

Tomita Melon Furano Hokkaido

Since the buns were being freshly baked, we had to wait for a bit and ventured into the building next door which sold the melon fruits in boxes of 2. They’re sold according to a ripening schedule, so the staff advised us on a pair which would be ready to be eaten that evening and the next day.

Tomita Melon Farm

When the sound of the bakery’s ringing bell pierced through the air, I immediately turned on my heel and tried to look as composed as possible while getting there in the least possible time. The buns were ready – fresh from the oven and cozying into their individual paper holders. It was warm against my fingertips. My first bite of the hot and fluffy bun revealed its molten melon center (featured picture) and let loose a whiff of its fruity fragrance. The molten melon filling was a sort of custard, and full of the natural sweetness of the fruit. Truly a delight.

Published by

Zabrina Alexis Chew

I believe in exploration, in visiting new places, encountering people and cultures, and in learning and trying new things. I believe in pushing the boundaries, doing what you never thought you'd ever get down to doing, and to look at the world with an open mind. I believe in looking forward with enthusiasm at the adventures that await. Above all, I believe in being and feeling alive. I hope you will share my adventures with me, just as I would love to share in yours also. Here's to our friendship. After all, we're all explorers in this world together!

Leave a Reply

