Rokkatei (六花亭), Obihiro, Hokkaido, Japan

SCRIBBLES

Category: Japanese – Desserts

Rokkatei 2F, S9 W2 Obihiro-shi MAP. Tel, 0120-012-66

Rokkatei (六花亭) is well known for its desserts, especially its butter cream sandwich (マルセイバターサンド). They have a few branches around Hokkaido, including in Sapporo and Otaru. Rokkatei‘s branch in Obihiro was a little difficult to find – the entrance was through a little zen Japanese-style garden with slate-like stepping stones amongst the otherwise pebbled garden, a wooden bench and wispy trees. It was wedged deep between two low-rise buildings. We happened to be early so it was still awfully quiet, and we almost thought we’d mistakenly walked into someone’s house if not for the only thing that gave it away – a Japanese garden lamp along the pavement, bearing the words “六花亭”.

Damage: $

Compared to Singapore, the quality of the confectionery was higher and more affordable as well, which I thought surprising. I must say the Japanese are extremely devoted to their crafts, and desserts-making is no exception. While they tend to come in bite-sized packages (i.e. quite small), I’m pretty sure the same item would have costed about 2 – 3X more back home. On average, the snacks averaged around $1.50/pc and around $4/slice for the cakes, and especially when compared to cakes which cost $6 and up per slice back in Singapore, I thought I’d struck the lottery.

Biscuits, wafers, snacks galore Cutest cakesTo go: Yes! When in Japan! 😀

They have an amazing selection of desserts from mochi, to chocolates, to cakes. I personally recommend for you to try the butter biscuit (why, of course), and have a slice of cake or two while you’re there. Even if you can’t read Japanese and would like to delight your eyes with Rokkatei’s wide selection, you can view their catalogue here.


A MORE DETAILED RECOUNT

Rokkatei was the first of several renowned dessert shops which I made a point to visit while in Hokkaido, and while I came to realize that the standards are high across all of them and the packaging is always phenomenal, more often than not, each of the dessert houses hold their own.

We tried two slices of cakes (feature picture) when we were there – one being a coffee cake with chestnut cream, and the other was a matcha cake with azuki beans. The cream on both cakes was extremely light and flavorful, and for someone who doesn’t really like chestnuts (except when toasted in a wok like on the streets in Seoul), I found the coffee-chestnut cake to be a great choice for the morning. I am a hardcore matcha lover, so my eyes lit up once I saw that on display and I just had to try it. It didn’t blow me away (which is the problem with matcha cakes because they are everywhere and mostly made in a similar way), but it was good. The azuki beans were interspersed in the layers of cream, and in a dollop on the top.

Definitely, the butter cream sandwich would be the pick for Rokkatei – White chocolate, raisins and hokkaido butter (nope, it’s no ordinary butter) sandwiched between two biscuits. It is creamy and melts in your mouth, with the sweetness of the raisins coming through every now and then.

Rokkatei Butter Cream Sandwich, Hokkaido

Published by

Zabrina Alexis Chew

I believe in exploration, in visiting new places, encountering people and cultures, and in learning and trying new things. I believe in pushing the boundaries, doing what you never thought you'd ever get down to doing, and to look at the world with an open mind. I believe in looking forward with enthusiasm at the adventures that await. Above all, I believe in being and feeling alive. I hope you will share my adventures with me, just as I would love to share in yours also. Here's to our friendship. After all, we're all explorers in this world together!

Leave a Reply

